Henri Horoszowski Award and Pietrogrande Prize presented at MSK Congress

The 17th WFH International Musculoskeletal (MSK) Congress was held this past May, and saw a record 640 participants from over 80 countries take part. The event included many educational sessions, as well as the presentation of the Henri Horoszowski Award and the Pietrogrande Prize.

The Henri Horoszowski Award was established in 1998 to honour the memory of Professor Henri Horoszowski—former chairperson of the Musculoskeletal Committee—to encourage musculoskeletal specialists to become involved in hemophilia care. The prize is given to the best free paper presentation at an MSK Congress. During this year’s event, three free paper sessions were held, each with three outstanding abstract presenters. The free paper presenters were those individuals who had authored the highest scoring abstracts—from a total pool of over 70 submitted this year. The abstracts were judged for their scientific methodology, relevance, originality, and quality of presentation. The WFH extends its congratulations to this year’s winner, Baolai Hua, MD, from Clinical Medical College, Yangzhou University, China, for his presentation, The effects of intra-articular injection of TNF-alpha antagonists in treatment of haemophilic synovitis.

The Pietrogrande Prize was created in 2005 to recognize a healthcare professional who has contributed significantly in furthering the mission and goals of the Musculoskeletal Committee of the WFH. This year, the prize was given to Alexander Seuser, who accepted it on behalf of his father, Axel Seuser. Axel Seuser had been a member of the WFH Musculoskeletal Committee since 1999, and was a two-time recipient of the Henri Horoszowski Award. He was a valued member of the bleeding disorders community, and the WFH is honoured to have the opportunity to celebrate his legacy.

To find out more about the 17th WFH International Musculoskeletal (MSK) Congress, please click here.