New President elected at 2020 Annual Meeting of the General Assembly

The World Federation of Hemophilia (WFH) 2020 Annual Meeting of the General Assembly was held yesterday. The event saw a number of important changes brought to the WFH, including the election of a new President and board members, and the addition of new national member organizations (NMOs) to the WFH family.

Both the voting process and the event itself were held virtually for the first time due to COVID-19 pandemic restrictions. Instead of watching candidates give presentations during the meeting, candidates posted bios, CVs and videos on a digital platform which was used to inform voting decisions. Votes were then held online. While the process was new, what was the same was the spirit of cooperation in the name of the bleeding disorders community shown by everyone who took part.

The Annual Meeting of the General Assembly marked the completion of Alain Weill’s second mandate as WFH President. Cesar Garrido was voted in as the new President of the WFH. His mandate starts immediately, and Hemophilia World will be bringing you more news on Garrido’s experience and his objectives as President in the coming days.

There were other changes to the board of directors: two medical member and three lay member positions were up for election. The following is the list of new members voted into the WFH board of directors during the WFH 2020 Annual Meeting of the General Assembly:





Cesar Garrido, (America South)

Four years

Medical Member

Miguel Escobar, (America North)
Cedric Hermans, (Europe West)

Four years
Four years

Lay Member

Carlos Safadi Marquez (America South)
Clive Smith, (Europe West)
Megan Adediran, (Africa)

Four years
Two years
Four years

Twelve organizations were accredited as full national member organizations (NMOs) or associate NMOs, bringing the total number of WFH NMOs to 147. WFH Associate NMOs representing El Salvador, Maldives, Mali, and Zambia all became full NMOs. Organizations from Angola, Botswana, Djibouti, Fiji, Kosovo, Malta, Republic of the Congo and Rwanda became associate NMOs. The WFH is proud to welcome these new organizations into the WFH.

The WFH would like to thank the departing board members—Alain Weill, Magdy El Ekiaby, Deon York, Ampaiwan Chuansumrit and Vincent Dumez—for their hard work and dedication in the name of Treatment for All.