Recipients of WFH President’s Award announced

Celebrating those making a difference at the local community level, we are pleased to recognize the achievements of the first-ever recipients of the World Federation of Hemophilia (WFH) President’s Award. This prestigious award recognizes an individual or organization that has served society for a significant duration and made a substantial impact on the hemophilia community within their country. WFH President Alain Weill announced that, considering the volume of contenders, the selection committee chose to make an exception and award three deserving individuals in the WFH President’s Award inaugural year.

Megan Adediran: Haemophilia Foundation of Nigeria
Megan Adediran’s efforts convinced her government to recognize bleeding disorders and provide support to patients. Adediran has led numerous initiatives over the years, including successful lobbying of the government to cease taxation on imported humanitarian aid product donations, increasing awareness in rural communities through innovative programs and establishing a youth summer camp.

María del Carmen Agurcia: Sociedad Hondureña de Hemofilia
María del Carmen Agurcia’s involvement with the Honduras bleeding disorder community began in the 1990s. She was instrumental in establishing the WFH national member organization (NMO) in Honduras and her work has resulted in her country purchasing medication and providing low-dose prophylactic treatment to children with severe hemophilia in the capital city of Tegucigalpa. Her dedication and spirit to helping those in need inspires us all.

Bogdan Gajewski: Polish Hemophilia Society
Bogdan Gajewshi’s long involvement with the Polish bleeding disorder community began in the 1980s with the founding of the Polish Hemophilia Society. His tireless efforts as the spokesperson for this , and later as its president, resulted in the adoption of a national hemophilia treatment program by the Polish Ministry of Health. Consequently, Gajewski’s work and dedication have resulted in the availability of prophylaxis for all children (since 2008) and all adults (since 2014) in Poland.